It's been a busy past couple of years chasing down doctors and testing. To say it wasn't stressful, is the understatement of the year.
Having and living with chronic illness isn't a joke.
It started after I got violently ill at the place I worked at in Virginia. I always had more of a "delicate" immune system but the bug I got there about took me out. What little reserves I had were wiped out there.
It was a vicious cycle. I lost over 100 pounds rapidly, couldn't keep food down, and everyone commented on how great it was that I lost that weight. My husband was terrified.
I started out at a Functional clinic. I loved the doctor, but we never were able to get to the actual reason I was sick. I couldn't take the supplements and I felt like I was letting him down.
Then we moved to a new state. I started demanding answers. And they came.
MELAS, a mitochondrial disease. And PI, an umbrella diagnosis that basically said my body does not produce the right response to illness. I have a few other conditions that fall under these, but so many places missed them.
The hard part is that there is no cure for either. It flat out sucks.
The good news is that with these diagnoses I now have better treatment options. I can get medication to help. I can get tools to support me.
I wish this would have been found sooner, but I am very thankful that it has been found and that I have a better team on board. Right now I am just taking it one day at a time. And for now, that's good enough.